# Faculty Senate Meeting Tuesday, November 19, 2013 3:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., Lee Hall Auditorium Dr. Dreamal Worthen, Presiding

## Officers (Present)

Dr. Dreamal Worthen, Vice President Dr. James Muchovej, Parliamentarian

### Officers (Absent)

Dr. Narayan Persaud

Prof. Andrew Skerritt

Dr. Bettye Grable Dr. Sevilla Bronson

Dr. Elijah Johnson

Ms. Jeneice Smith

Mrs. Ernestine Holmes

Di. I tarayari i oroaca	
Senators (Present)	Senators (Absent)
Dr. Mary Diallo	Mrs. Marci Duncan
Ms. Edith Carnley	Dr. Huberta Jackson-Lowman
Dr. Kyle Eidahl	Dr. Merlin Langley
Dr. David Jackson, Jr.	Dr. Jermaine Robertson
Dr. Na'Imah Ford	Dr. Gervin Robertson
Dr. Deidre Evans	Dr. Angela Thornton
Dr. Lakan Latinwo	Mr. Sylvester Peck, Sr.
Dr. Desmond Stephens	Ms. Raquista Claitt
Dr. Lavetta Henderson	Dr. Primus Mtenga
Dr. Rufus Ellis	Dr. Aurelia Alexander
Dr. Elizabeth Davenport	Dr. Oliver Chamel
Dr. Lambert Kanga	Dr. Angela Murphy
Dr. Ann Marie Cavazos	Dr. DeEdgra Williams
Dr. Nise Nekheba	Dr. Uloma Onubogu
Dr. Maurice Holder	
Dr. Ebenezer Oriaku	
Dr. Perry Brown	Senators (Excused)
Dr. Ronald Lumpkin	Dr. Violetka Colova
Dr. Chao Li	Dr. Carl Moore
Dr. Roscoe Hightower	Prof. Kandy Woods

Ex-Officio (Voting) (Absent)

Dr. Donald Palm Mrs. Brenda Wright

Dr. Aretha Hill

SGA (Voting) (Absent)

Mr. Evan Bailey

The Faculty Senate was opened by Vice President/Senator Dreamel Worthen at 3:23 p.m. Because there was no quorum, the Faculty Senate could not officially undertake any business. VP/Senator Worthen began by reading comments from President/Senator Persaud, who could not be present because of a Board of Trustee Meeting.

Senator Worthen requested all who serve on the Committee on Committee to provide the names of 5 colleagues from their respective schools/colleges to serve on the numerous committees. She announced that the School of Business and Industry and the School of Nursing have submitted names.

Dr. Deidre Powell gave a for information-only report about the Benevolent/Condolence Plan. She outlined the suggestions that this committee was pursuing.

VP/Senator Worthen then announced the names of the people being considered for professor-emeritus. She also announced the recommendation for an honorary doctorate for former Trustee Bill Jennings, and a recommendation of a name change for the School of Architecture.

Senator Hightower (SBI) brought in a recommendation from the SBI to consider changing the grading system to include the use of plus and minus. Senator Hightower presented the advantages of moving to this system. It was noted that the College of Law already uses the plus and minus grades. After some discussion, VP/Senator Worthen asked for a show of hands to agree to refer this matter to the Council on Academic Policies. It was agreed.

It was reported that a quorum was present. It was moved and seconded the agenda be approved. The motion carried. It was moved and seconded the minutes be approved with corrections. The motion carried.

• One correction to the October minutes was submitted by Senator Diallo. The minute should have reflected that she questioned the statement that reads, "Advisors are responsible for the actions of the memberships, and its sponsorship of events while in attendance at events on and off-campus."

### **NEW BUSINESS**

It was the motioned and seconded the three (3) names that had been submitted be approved for the title Professor-Emeritus. The motion carried.

It was the motioned and seconded for the approval of the awarding of the Honorary Doctorate to former Trustee Bill Jennings. The motion carried.

Senator David Jackson (SSAH) asked if the Honorary Doctorate Committee had met. After some discussion it was determined this committee had not met.

It was motioned and seconded that the original motion be retracted. Senators were asked to vote by a showing of hands. The motion carried 20 to 0. The motion was retracted.

Senator Latinwo said the Research Award Policy Committee had not met, but Senator/President Persaud had asked him about changing the timeframe from seven (7) to five (5) years.

It was motioned and seconded to change the name of the School of Architecture to the School of Architecture and Engineering Technology. The motion carried.

### Announcements:

- 1. The Committee on Committee was reminded to provide the names from each college/school.
- 2. Once the Honorary Doctorate Committee has met a ballot will be sent out electronically.

Senator Latinwo talked about students partying on Friday in front of the library. His concern was about retention and image. Senator Kanga was asked to have the Student Affairs Committee investigate how this problem could be rectified.

It was moved and seconded that the Faculty Senate be adjourned. at 4 p.m.	The motion carried; the Senate adjourned
Submitted,	
Joe A. Houston, Recorder	