# Minutes of the Faculty Senate Tuesday, December 8, 2014 3:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., Lee Hall Auditorium Dr. Bettye A. Grable, Presiding

## Officers (Present)

Dr. Bettye Grable, President Dr. Joe Ann Houston, Secretary Dr. James Muchovej, Parliamentarian

#### Senators (Present)

Dr. William Guzman Dr. Kyle Eidahl

Dr. David Jackson

Dr. Huberta Jackson-Lowman

Dr. Jermaine Robertson

Dr. Paulette Reneau

Dr. Lekan Latinwo

Dr. Jesse Edwards

Dr. Rufus Ellis

Dr. Elizabeth Davenport

Dr. Raymond Hix

Dr. Maurice Holder

Dr. Ebenezer Oriaku

Dr. Perry Brown

Dr. Angela Thornton

Dr. Primus Mtenga

Dr. Dawn Brown-Cross

Dr. Aurelia Alexander

Dr. Aretha Hill

Dr. Robert Richardson

Dr. David Guthrie

Mrs. Ernestine Holmes

Mrs. Faye Watkins

### Senators (Excused)

Dr. Violetka Tsolova

Dr. Ann Marie Cavazos

Dr. Nise Nekheba

Dr. Roscoe Hightower

# Senators (Absent)

Mrs. Marci Duncan

The meeting was opened by President/Senator Grable at 3:14 p.m. Because a quorum was not present, President/Senator Grable began with a report of the last BOT meeting. She then began a discussion of issues facing the University.

Dr. Na'Imah Ford Dr. Merlin Langley Dr. James Strohaber

Dr. Desmond Stephens

Dr. Lavetta Henderson Dr. Keawin Sarjeant Dr. Margaret Gitau Prof. Joseph Grant Dr. John Cooperwood

Mr. Sylvester Peck

Ms. Raquista Claitt Dr. Carl Moore Dr. Ronald Lumpkin

Dr. Chao Li

Dr. Olivier Chamel

Dr. Clyde Ashley Dr. Sevilla Bronson Dr. Marcia Owens Dr. Elijah Johnson Ms. Jeneice Smith Dr. Donald Palm

SGA (Voting) (Absent)

Mr. Ronnie Mackey, II

- 1. Engineering School President/Senator Grable gave remarks about a meeting she'd attended last year about the Engineering School.
  - Senator Mtgena discussed the Draft Report from the consultant who reviewed the crisis at the Engineering School.
  - Senator Guzman also spoke about hiring practices at the Engineering School and grant funding opportunities.
- 2. Faculty Salaries It was suggested the administration come in to discuss the process with the Faculty Senate.

Because both the University President and the Provost were attending the annual SACS meeting, there were no reports, up-dates or remarks from the administration.

- 3. Faculty Senate Travel Grants President/Senator Grable stated she'd received an email from Senator Hightower while he was attending an international conference. The issue he raised was about the kind of grant he'd received. At the Steering Committee Meeting, Associate Vice President Palm clarified the difference. There currently exists two travel grants: Faculty Travel Grant and a Faculty Senate Travel Grant. The Steering Committee will review the criteria.
  - Dr. Palm will be on the January agenda to discuss this item. It was noted that Senator Kyle Eidahl is a member of this committee.
  - Senator Davenport gave historical information about how the money for the Faculty Senate Travel grant had been transferred to Academic Affairs.
  - Senator Holder stated there had originally been a \$21,000 allocation for this grant.
  - Senator Latinwo discussed the limit on how often a faculty member can and should be allowed to apply for and receive the travel grant.

President/Senator Grable then asked for announcements; there were none.

- 4. Hiring Process President/Senator Grable indicated there were concerns about how the hiring process is not being followed. She specifically discussed the provost search. The Steering Committee wanted to write a letter to the president expressing concerns.
  - Senator Eidahl talked about how information has set on the provost's desk.
  - Dr. Neil James briefly discussed the use of search firms.

#### **OLD BUSINESS**

Dr. Neil James gave a report from the Curriculum Committee. A lengthy discussion followed about what constitutes a "college credit."

Because of the extreme cold in the Lee Hall Auditorium, it was motioned and agreed the meeting close. The meeting closed.

Joe A. Houston, Recorder