Minutes of the Faculty Senate Tuesday, March 17, 2015 3:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., Lee Hall Auditorium

Dr. Bettye A. Grable, Presiding

Officer's (Present)

Dr. Bettye Grable, President Dr. Joe Ann Houston, Secretary

Dr. James Muchovej, Parliamentarian

Senator's (Present)

Dr. William Guzman

Dr. Kyle Eidahl

Dr. David Jackson

Dr. Huberta Jackson-Lowman

Dr. Merlin Langley

Dr. Paulette Reneau

Dr. James Strohaber

Dr. Lekan Latinwo

Dr. Desmond Stephens

Dr. Jesse Edwards

Dr. Lavetta Henderson

Dr. Rufus Ellis

Dr. Elizabeth Davenport

Dr. Violetka Tsolova

Dr. Margaret Gitau

Dr. Ann Marie Cavazos

Dr. Joseph Grant

Dr. John Cooperwood

Dr. Maurice Holder

Dr. Ebenezer Oriaku

Dr. Perry Brown

Dr. Angela Thornton

Mr. Sylvester Peck

Dr. Carl Moore

Dr. Primus Mtenga

Dr. Aurelia Alexander

Dr. Clyde Ashley

Dr. Roscoe Hightower

Dr. Aretha Hill

Dr. David Guthrie

Dr. Sevilla Bronson

Dr. Elijah Johnson

Ms. Jeneice Smith

Mrs. Ernestine Holmes

Senators (Absent)

Mrs. Marci Duncan

Dr. Na'Imah Ford

Dr. Jermaine Robertson

Dr. Keawin Sarjeant

Dr. Nise Nekheba

Ms. Raquista Claitt

Dr. Ronald Lumpkin

Dr. Chao Li

Dr. Olivier Chamel

Dr. Robert Richardson

Senators (Excused)

Dr. Raymond Hix

Dr. Dawn Brown-Cross

Ex-Officio (Voting) (Present)

Dr. Donald Palm

Mrs. Faye Watkins

SGA (Voting) (Present)

Mr. Ronnie Mackey, II

The meeting was opened by President/Senator Bettye Grable at 3:01 p.m. The parliamentarian was not present; therefore, an official accounting of whether a quorum was present could not be established.

President/Senator Grable shared the following information:

- 1. The BOG would be meeting here at FAMU this week; eight faculty members were invited to attend breakfast;
- 2. The Senate Office would not move to Lee Hall because of logistical problems;
- 3. Senators were urged to read the Notes from the President's Desk;
- 4. We were given a letter from Rick Scott about his budget; and
- 5. The Heroine's Tea was announced as a part of Women's History Month.

The parliamentarian announced a quorum was present, and the Senate could be opened for business.

The second item on the agenda was the approval of the minutes. It was motion and seconded that the minutes be approved. The motion carried. It was then moved and seconded the agenda be adopted. The motion carried.

The parliamentarian then came to hold the election of officers. The new officers will take office at the beginning of the new academic year. The following senators were elected to serve for the 2015-2017 term.

Senator Betty Grable, President Senator Joe Ann Houston, Vice President Senator Anne Marie Cavazos, Secretary

ANNOUCEMENTS

- 1. Senator Davenport announced she is running for the state-wide vice presidency of UFF. The deadline is Friday, March 20.
- 2. Senator Jackson-Lowman reminded the senate about the Imhotep Seminar.
- 3. Senator Watkins announced the library survey. She encouraged faculty to complete the survey.
- 4. Senator Langley announced that Interdisciplinary Studies now has a webpage.

ADMINISTRATIVE REMARKS

Provost David gave brief remarks. She thanked the faculty for its acceptance. Senator Ashley invited the provost to have a town hall meeting to meet with the entire faculty. Provost David reported she'd already met with the faculty in the College of Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities. It is her intention to meet with the faculties of all the other colleges. Her top initiatives for the coming year are (1) work with junior faculty/faculty development, (2) work with deans to make sure efforts are aligned with the Strategic Plan and (3) improve the graduation rate. Senator Holder asked the provost is she'd consider a Dean of Faculty position.

NEW BUSINESS

- Senator Langley recommended the University award James H. Latimer the honorary doctorate. It was moved and seconded the committee report be adopted. The motion carried.
- Senator Davenport presented the committee report for the Emeritus Professor. The committee recommended Narayan Persaud and Gale Workman receive the title emeritus professor. Moved and seconded the report be adopted. The motion passed.
- ❖ A resolution was read from the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates opposing concealed weapons on university campuses. It was moved and seconded we strongly oppose concealed weapons and support the resolution. The motion passed.

Former FAMU-UFF president Bill Tucker was allowed to address the Senate. He announced FAMU Day at the capital. He also mentioned an NACCP effort to restore the rights of felons.

CONTINUING BUSINESS

Dr. Neil James presented the Curriculum Committee Report. It was moved and seconded the report be accepted. The motion carried.

Dr. Verian Thomas, interim dean of graduate studies, was added to the agenda. She discussed the policy of a grade average being reset. A copy of the proposed policy will be sent out. She announced a meeting on March 20.

The Senate adjourned at 4:43.

Joe A. Houston, Recorder