# Minutes of Faculty Senate Tuesday, September 15, 2015 3:00 p.m.—5:00 p.m., Lee Hall Auditorium Dr. Bettye A. Grable, Presiding

# **Officer's (Present)**

Dr. Bettye Grable, President Dr. Joe Ann Houston, Vice President Prof. Ann Cavazos, Secretary Dr. James Muchovej, Parliamentarian

#### Senator's (Present)

Dr. Lillie Brown Dr. William Guzman Dr. Kyle Eidahl **Dr. Jenny Jones** Dr. Huberta Jackson-Lowman Dr. Allezo Owens Dr. Darryl Scriven Dr. Merlin Langley Dr. James Strohaber Dr. Lekan Latinwo Dr. Desmond Stephens Dr. Musiliyu Musa Dr. Raymond Hix Dr. Hassiem Kambui Dr. Rebecca Blankenship Dr. David White Dr. Lavetta Henderson Dr. Daniel Solis Dr. Glen Wright Prof. Phyllis Taite Prof. Joseph Grant Dr. Tiffany Ardley Dr. Maurice Holder Dr. Ebenezer Oriaku Dr. Perry Brown

Dr. Perry Brown Dr. Angela Thornton Ms. Sheila Labissiere Dr. Yassir Abdelrazig Dr. Mark Weatherspoon Dr. Dawn Brown-Cross Dr. Lauralyn Burke Prof. Craig Huffman Dr. Clyde Ashley Dr. Aretha Hill Dr. David Guthrie Dr. Sevilla Bronson Dr. Marcia Owens Mrs. Pamela Monroe Mrs. Gloria Woody

# Senator's (Absent)

Dr. Keawin Sarjeant Prof. Antonio Soares

# Senator's (Excused)

Dr. Paulette Reneau Dr. Roscoe Hightower Dr. Richard Gragg

# **EX-OFFICIO (Voting) (Present)**

Dr. Donald Palm Mrs. Faye Watkins

# SGA (Voting) (Present)

Mr. Justin Bruno

The meeting commenced at 3:01 p.m. by Senate President, Senator Bettye Grable and at 3:12 p.m. a quorum was announced by Dr. James Muchovej, Parliamentarian.

Opening Remarks: President/Senator Grable initiated conversation about the 2015 Work Plan and stated that it important to keep discussions open and to be transparent.

Installation of new Senators by Shira Thomas, Assistant to the General Counsel.

Dr. Clyde Ashely commended President Elmira Mangum on establishing the Strategic Planning Committee and selecting Dr. Robinson as the Chair of the Strategic Planning Committee.

Co-Chair of FAMU's Benevolent/Condolence Affairs "A six (6) year journey is Dr. Deidre Powell". She discussed the "Rattlers Wall to Honor Fallen Rattlers" this is a five (5) year plan. Also requested Faculty Senators assist in having a candlelight vigil for all FAMU Fallen Rattlers. (See insert in Senators handout package)

# **ANNOUNCEMENTS:**

Dr. Ebenezer Oriaku provided a handout on "#FAMUForward-FAMU at a glance."

Dr. Huberta Jackson-Lowman-discussed an upcoming Psychologist conference to be held on November 6 & 7, 2015.

Approval of the April 27, 2015 meetings minutes approved.

Dr. Robinson discussed briefly the Strategic Plan and 2015 Work plan. He announced the members on the Strategic Plan and they are as follows.

#### The Strategic Planning Committee

Chair- Dr. Robinson Co-Chair Cynthia Hughes-Harris Tommy Mitchell Tonnette Graham Wanda Ford Donald Palm Charles Weatherford Maurice Edington David Jackson Maurice Holder Anita Favors Thompson Shawnta Friday-Stroud Mario Henderson-Law School Student

# **Committee Staff:**

- Funmi Ojetayo
- Beverly Barrington

# **NEW BUSINESS:**

Request for Faculty Senate Statement supporting the FAMU Work Plan presented by **Dr. Lekan Latinwo**-Concerns about the relevancy of FAMU in leadership and its faculty. Request for faculty and Faculty Senators to unite with Administration to provide excellent education to students and to support the 2015 Work Plan.

**Motion** to request Faculty Senators to support the 2015 Work Plan submitted by the administration and Senators' pledge to support and work with the administration to ensure that Florida A&M University remains strong, viable and treated equitably by all entities including the Board of Governors.

It was **second** by Dr. Clyde Ashley.

#### **Discussion:**

Dr. Mark Weatherspoon, College of Engineering, supported the work plan but he wanted to know how the Senators will support the Strategic Plan. He raised a question with respect to the mission and relevance of FAMU and the concerns to serve minority students.

Dr. Maurice Holder-School of Pharmacy wanted to clarify the role of the FAMU Faculty Senators. He stated that "the role of the Senators is that of an advisory role to President Mangum. The language therefore should state that we advise President Mangum that on September 15, 2015, FAMU Senators agrees to support the Work Plan."

A friendly amendment to the motion was made and second.

Dr. Ashley requested a clarification question to see the Faculty Senators support the work force and the strategic plan.

President Grable motion to form an ad hoc committee to support the Work Plan and Dr. Mangum. The Faculty voted to unanimously support President Mangum 2015 Work Plan. **Motion Passes.** 

# Presentation of Faculty Award by Dr. Bettye Grable

- Teacher of the Year Awarded to Dr. April McCray;
- Advanced Teacher of the year awarded to Dr. Carl Goodman.
- Faculty Senate Gold Medallion Award presented to Dr. Narayan Persaud
- Earned Professor Emeritus Status presented to Dr. Narayan Persaud

# **CURRICULUM COMMITTEE:**

# **New Course Requests:**

- Dr. Neil James reported on two new courses in the College of Engineering. Transportation Economics; and
- Transportation Systems Analysis.
  - (See report in the file)

# **Course Change Requests:**

There was a motion to approve two proposals to change the name of two courses in the School of Allied Health Sciences. (See report in file)

#### **New Course Minors Requests:**

There was a motion to approve two minors course proposal in the College of Agriculture and Food Sciences. (See report in file.)

Recommendations to approve the curriculum courses were motioned and second. There was no discussion. **Motion passed and accepted.** 

#### The volunteers for the Ad Hoc Committee for the 2015 Work Plan are as follows.

- 1. Dr. Clyde Ashely (SBI)
- 2. Dr. Kelley Bailey (SBI)
- 3. Dr. Perry Brown (College of Pharmacy)
- 4. Dr. Dawn Brown-Cross (SOAHS)
- 5. Dr. Ann Marie Cavazos (COL)
- 6. Dr. Richard Gragg (School of the Environment).
- 7. Dr. Joe A. Houston (CSSAH)
- 8. Dr. Lekan Latinwo (CST)
- 9. Dr. Phyllis Taite (COL)
- 10. Dr. Mark Weatherspoon (College of Engineering)

Meeting adjourned at 4:15 pm.